King Philip Football Team Celebrates at Season-Ending Awards Ceremony

Standing, from left to right: Seniors Luke D’Amico, Tyler Nault, Conor Galvin, Timmy Nault, Aiden Bender, Tyler Bartlett, David Morganelli. Kneeling is Jack Webster. (Photo courtesy King Philip Regional School District)
Issue Date: 
March, 2019
Article Body: 

Athletic Director Gary Brown and Varsity Head Football Coach Brian Lee are pleased to announce that the King Philip football program celebrated another successful season with an end-of-season awards ceremony.
The event was held in the KPHS auditorium on Sunday, Jan. 27. Over 100 varsity, junior varsity and freshman players, coaches and parents were in attendance to celebrate the team and individual accomplishments of the season.
“We had a really great year and it was awesome to be able to recognize all of the hard work and dedication that these kids had,” Coach Lee said. “I am proud of our team and all our players from varsity to junior varsity to freshmen. It was a privilege to coach these young men, who worked very hard all season, from camp to the championship game.”
With a regular season record of 6-2, the Warriors were the Division 2 South champions. They won three playoff games to advance to the state championship at Gillette Stadium, where the team lost a close game to North Andover High School.
During the awards ceremony, the freshman team was recognized for their undefeated season, going 11-0. Freshman Head Coach Shawn Gough gave the Freshman Award to Nick Viscusi.
The junior varsity team was recognized for their 9-2 record on the season and Junior Varsity Head Coach Greg Norris presented the JV Award to Dan Mullen.
Forty-eight boys on the team were given an Academic Award for making the honor roll in the first term.
Additionally, KPHS Assistant Principal Tracy Knapp presented awards to each player with the highest grade point average (GPA) in each grade: Freshman, Mark Tagerman; Sophomore, Will Martin; Junior, Jack Coulter; and Senior, Jack Norgren.
Other awards: Patrick Walsh received the KP Chiefs Alumni Award; Ryan Halliday received the Offensive Player of the Year award; David Morganelli received the Defensive Player of the Year award; Cole Baker received the Special Teams Player of the Year award; Tyler Bartlett received the Unsung Hero award; Terrell Jacobs-Baston received the Lineman of the Year award; Shawn Conniff received the Grit Award; Jack Norgren received the Scout Award; and Jack Webster received the Warrior Award.
“I want to congratulate Coach Lee on another successful and hard-fought season,” Athletic Director Brown said. “This team played with tremendous pride and all of the student-athletes exemplified the best values that King Philip has to offer.”